Growing Up

DISCLAIMER: Any resemblance to persons dead or alive is freaky!

Note to Reader: If you think this is too long then just skip it, press the FB like button below the text and go watch season 2 of Arrow or season 7 of Big Boss on YouTube. I’m informed that they have a very good viewership.

(Personal note to Ms. Pandora, who opened the ‘Box of Troubles’: If you’re reading this then know that ‘I will look for you, I will find you and I will kill you.’)

growing up

Remember the text messages you used to forward during high school? “Broken toys and lost pencils are better than broken hearts and lost friends…”, “…No care in the world…” and what not. And now when I sit down and reflect upon my life a few years ago, I’m astonished at the amount of change we all have undergone.
If I surmise the experience of stepping out of the house into the real world then it all culminates down to “Growing up sucks”. Though I do feel like “To hell with this. I’m going to Narnia”, the major reason why I would want to stay a kid is I don’t want to lose the parts of me which made me a kid. I’m sure some of us still know how to have fun but some of us have faced unimaginable losses and have been through hell. Some of us have become a completely different person; some have become polar opposites of what they used to be! (And I do include the looks department in it too). But the price we’ve paid is a very big one.

I doubt if I’ve any shred of innocence left in me. Blessed are they who still retain some of it. They’re lucky people indeed. It’s as if we’ve crossed some invisible line which triggers a flurry of hard truths; nailed deep into our lives by the hammer of ‘life’. I’ve forgotten what it felt like when I used to call everyone I knew a friend. When the world wasn’t complex, when we weren’t a part of a rat race stepping over each other and pushing everyone aside hankering after the piece of cheese at the finish line; when we didn’t know the meaning of ‘bad words’. It was wonderful a life when we could be ourselves without the fear of being labeled ‘crazy’. I’ve lost the part of my life when I went to sleep every night with my parents standing watch over me. It is SURPRISING how all the bad aspects of the world were mostly hidden from us. When death and disease were such a remote concept we never understood.

Responsibility: oh how the human race… Forget race. How I used to fear this word! Yet that is not what pushes me away. It’s the busy nature of our lives, the scarcity of time, increase of distance and exponential rise in phenomena like ‘misunderstandings’, ‘loneliness’, ‘greed’, ‘selfishness’ and, the biggest and baddest one “Change” that makes me want to build a time machine. How petty seem emotions, how stony have our faces become! Unwanted worry lines have become more abundant than forced dimples. Sigh!

It is the fact that we’ve replaced “share and care” with “Each man unto himself” which scares me.

Well, to hell with this shit. I’m off to Narnia anyways.

P.S. Eat, pray, love and don’t tell your parents if you drink. (Dad, if you do read this one then know that I’m just joking.) Peace out.

3 thoughts on “Growing Up

Share your Thoughts...

